top of page

#inMySkin - Raiysa Aliyah

Introduce yourself!

Hi! I'm Raiysa. I'm a model, co-owner of a contracting company, traveler, designer and carnival chaser!



How do you express yourself creatively?

It depends on the day. Sometimes I dance, or I'll plan a theme for a shoot based around a song than I've been vibing to. Other times I'll write or cook. Most of the time it's through my photoshoots and outfits on the daily that people get to see my creativity.



Describe an insecurity that you had while growing up. Has your perspective changed? If so, how did you overcome this insecurity?

I had a lot of insecurities growing up. I guess that my tall and skinny body was the biggest one. I have long legs, arms, fingers lol. Kids would call me french fry fingers and giraffe neck and things like that lol. Little did I know these things would be my among my assets in the future. It took many many years of learning how to love myself, and understanding that this is the vessel I was given and I am exactly the way I'm supposed to be to overcome those insecurities. I also focused on feeding my inner beauty. Looks change over the years but its the person you are inside that truly counts.


Define Beauty

Beauty as I've come to understand it is more than your physical appearance. It's the feelings you get from moments in time, it's compassion and empathy for those around you. Beauty is love. Self love, love of humanity, love of your partner etc.


How would you describe your skin-type?

I have combination skin. Its mostly normal. I just get a bit oily in my T-zone.


How do you combat your personal skincare problems?

Usually I'll try to keep my water intake up. Alcohol also gives me slight breakouts if I'm partying a lot (usually during carnival time) so I try to cut back on that as well. I make sure to keep my skin moisturized and try to take my make up off at night. Sometimes I'll go a few weeks without make up to give my skin a break.


What are some of your skincare beauty secrets?

Tamanu oil is my newest skin care secret. It's my go to oil for the winter months. It's lightweight yet very moisturizing. I use a small amount in the summer since I don't have issues with dryness then. It's worked wonders on evening out my skin, and reducing/preventing acne marks and scars. It just gives you a nice healthy glow!


2 do’s for skincare?

1. At the very least, cleanse and moisturize day and night.

2. Drink an appropriate amount of water each day.


2 don’ts for skincare?

1. Don't sleep in your make up

2. Keep your hands off of your face


What motivates you to practice self-care consistently?

Not wanting to end up in a dark place again. I suffered with severe anxiety and mild depression for most of my life. I spent most of my time here living my life exclusively for others with little regard for myself. I hit rock bottom after a while and found myself unable to answer questions that I should about myself. I didn't know who I was or what made me happy, what I liked to do, what my goals and dreams were etc. I was empty from pouring into others my entire life. Now, I've learned to put me first always. If it doesn't feel right then I cut whatever it is out of my life. I rarely have issues with anxiety anymore and I definitely don't want to go back to that. I encourage everyone to do the same. You'll lose a few relationships for sure. But you'll gain love of self and that's one of the most important things to have in life.

WUNDER BODY is cruelty free, and we love our pets. If you have a pet, tell us about them! - Pets can also be plants :)

I have 2 dogs. Diesel and Nala. Diesel is a 6 year old black lab and Nala is a 2 year old golden doodle. I love them dearly!



What city/country do you represent? Made in Brooklyn, with Trini parts! I'm still here!


Where can we find you?


Instagram @RaiysaAliyah

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page