top of page

#inMySkin - Jessie Diaz-Herrera

Introduce yourself!

My name is Jessie Diaz-Herrera and I am a mom, wife, dancer, plus fitness model and body positive advocate.



How do you express yourself creatively?

Dance is my creative outlet. When I dance, an alter ego appears. All of a sudden, any shyness or discontent I have about my body disappears. It's a feeling- ISSA VIBE! I feel invisible. Nothing can bring me down when I’m feeling cute and hitting that choreography!

Because of dance, I've been lucky enough to work some awesome brands! Features in campaigns by Lane Bryant, Macy's, Reebok, Target and Dia&Co- it's truly been an amazing and humbling experience. For me to be encouraged to not only showcase my figure but also my passion for dance is so exciting.


Describe an insecurity that you had while growing up. Has your perspective changed? If so, how did you overcome this insecurity?

From dance studios to family home videos, I've been in the dance world since the age of 5. For me, dance is a way to express fierceness, love, anger, sadness, its a release of emotions that I have such a fun time doing. It wasn't always easy though. At the age of 12, my mom pulled me out of dance after the teacher told me I had to lose weight in order to continue with the studio.

But years later, I rediscovered my passion for dance years later in college, where my love for hip hop and street jazz came alive. I started choreographing in college shows, events for local artists and social dance companies and in turn, fell in love with the way my curvy body moved. The activity and community I once felt excluded from, I now am embraced by.

Now I teach a class called Body Positive Dance Class which suits all body types and dance levels. Not your typical dance class, the environment is judgement free, incorporating body positive talk and affirmations during the sessions to make my students feel comfortable at any dance level. My mission is not to just teach dance but to empower and to learn how to love their bodies through dance.


Define Beauty

I think beauty is looking at something/someone and feeling the sensation of being alive and happy. Beauty is so much more than physical. It's an aura really. I mean if you look up the meaning, they state "gives pleasure to the senses or pleasurably exalts the mind or spirit". There is beauty in everything and we have to dig deeper to find it and embrace it. What I find beautiful may not be what you find beauty in. - BUT THERE IS BEAUTY IN THAT! Like the fact that I can find something or someone beautiful and its MY sentiment makes it such a special experience.


How would you describe your skin-type?I'm def a combination skin gal. Especially when I hit my thirties, I noticed my skin would be really dry in the morning and then super oily by night.


How do you combat your personal skincare problems?

Funny enough, 2019 is the year of skincare. That is my resolution for the whole year. Honestly, drinking more water has been SUPER KEY in keeping my skin hydrating. Also I've invested in this face oil I'm obsessed over.


What are some of your skincare beauty secrets?

Face oils and retinol cream and been my go to products lately. After a good wash, I massaged both products into my skin and it feels like a dream. Sometimes I'll top it off with some rosewater in the morning after my make up as a setting spray and extra hydrating booster.


2 do’s for skincare? Water & Sleep

2 don’ts for skincare? Sleeping with makeup on (grab a wipe if your too lazy to wash it off). Putting yourself down


What motivates you to practice self-care consistently?

For me self care is not just product related, it's an experience of self love and affirmations. Saying things like, "I am balanced. I let go of negative self-talk. I love my body and all it does for me." That's a big part of self-care for me.


WUNDER BODY is cruelty free, and we love our pets. If you have a pet, tell us about them! - Pets can also be plants :)

Yes! I have a chubby cat named Dillon and he is awesome! Unlike what you here about most cats, this dude is a major snuggler and introduces himself to everyone.


What city/country do you represent?BRONX, NY



Instagram @curveswithmoves

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page